Home Sport XFL und USFL fusionieren zur neuen United Football League – SportsLogos.Net News

XFL und USFL fusionieren zur neuen United Football League – SportsLogos.Net News

von NFI Redaktion
Fotos mit freundlicher Genehmigung der United Football League.

Over the weekend, XFL co-owners Dwayne „The Rock“ Johnson and Dany Garcia announced the launch of the United Football League, the result of the merger between their league and the USFL.

„As a united spring league, we are able to strengthen our commitment to realizing and over-fulfilling the dreams of our players, coaches, staff, and fans,“ said Garcia in a statement. „This league represents a continuous legacy and progression, and we look forward to building the universe of spring football.“

The new league brings together four XFL teams, including the Arlington Renegades, DC Defenders, San Antonio Brahmas, and St. Louis Battlehawks, with four USFL teams, including the Birmingham Stallions, Houston Roughnecks, Memphis Showboats, and Michigan Panthers.

The inaugural season of the UFL kicks off on March 30 with a match between the Renegades and Stallions, who won their respective leagues in 2023. The rest of the schedule will be announced at a later date, with the games being broadcast on ABC, ESPN, FOX, and FS1.

The original XFL played only one season in 2001 before being relaunched by WWE Chairman Vince McMahon in 2020, but it was shut down after five games due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was then sold to Johnson and Garcia, who re-founded the league last spring.

On the other hand, the USFL played three seasons of spring football from 1983 to 1985 and planned to compete with the NFL in the fall of 1986 before ceasing operations. It returned in 2022, however, without connection to the original league, save for the league and team names.

„This is 30 years of spring football starting and stopping,“ Johnson said during an appearance on FOX NFL on Sunday. „By merging USFL and

The UFL should not be confused with the similarly named league that played from 2009-12 and included teams such as the Florida Tuskers, Hartford Colonials, Las Vegas Locomotives, Omaha Nighthawks, Sacramento Mountain Lions, and Virginia Destroyers.

Related Posts

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.