Home Sport Memorial Cup-Gastgeber Saginaw Spirit enthüllt Gedenktrikot für Turnierauftakt – SportsLogos.Net News

Memorial Cup-Gastgeber Saginaw Spirit enthüllt Gedenktrikot für Turnierauftakt – SportsLogos.Net News

von NFI Redaktion

As host of this year’s Memorial Cup, the Saginaw Spirit from the Ontario Hockey League continues the tradition of honoring war veterans with a special jersey.

The Spirit unveiled their commemorative jersey honoring fallen military members during their arrival parade for the Memorial Cup on Thursday, May 23. They will wear the jerseys during the tournament opening game against the WHL Champion Moose Jaw Warriors on Friday, May 24.

The jersey is predominantly red with blue shoulder patches and a wide blue stripe around the waist. Under the waist stripe, the flags of Canada and the United States can be seen. The front of the jersey features the silhouettes of two soldiers on a gray background saluting on either side of a cenotaph. The motif is enclosed in a blue circle with red laurels on the sides and a poppy flower on top.

(LR) Saginaw Spirit captain Braden Haché, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, and a representative of the Royal Canadian Legion hold up the Spirit’s Memorial Cup 2024 commemorative jerseys during the arrival parade on Thursday, May 23. (Courtesy of @CHLHockey / Twitter)

The sleeves feature blue stripes with white borders, and the numbers on the sleeves are in solid white block lettering. On the left shoulder, there is a patch with a silhouette of the Memorial Cup trophy and the number 24 inside, while the right shoulder displays the Saginaw Spirit primary logo.

The back of the jersey was not shown during the parade presentation on Friday.

Teams competing for the Memorial Cup this season include:

  • London Knights (OHL Champion)
  • Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL Champion)
  • Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL Champion)
  • Saginaw Spirit (Host; Defeated by London in OHL Western Conference Final)
SportsLogos.net Files

The Memorial Cup will be awarded for the 104th time. Originally established in 1919 by the Ontario Hockey Association to commemorate soldiers who died in World War I, it was renamed in 2010 to honor all fallen Canadian military personnel.

Since the introduction of the round-robin tournament format in 1972, WHL teams have won the Memorial Cup 19 times, while OHL teams have won 17 times and QMJHL teams have won 14 times, including the Quebec Remparts in 2023.

This year marks the first time the Memorial Cup is held in Michigan, and it is the first time the tournament is hosted in an American OHL city. Other American cities that have hosted the Memorial Cup include Portland, Oregon (1983, 1986), Seattle, Washington (1992), and Spokane, Washington (1998).

Related Posts

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.