Home Sport Das College-Football-Playoff-Komitee genehmigt das 12-Mann-Format

Das College-Football-Playoff-Komitee genehmigt das 12-Mann-Format

von NFI Redaktion

Bild für Artikel mit dem Titel College Football Playoff-Komitee genehmigt Nachsaison-Format mit 12 Teams

Foto: Getty Images

The College Football Playoffs will officially be expanded.

After years of debate, the College Football Playoff Committee has approved a 12-team playoff application format. The system will transition to a „5+7“ model, with five automatic bids from the top-ranking conference champions and seven at-large spots for the next highest-ranked teams.

Following the near dissolution of the Pac-12 conference, a vote was held on the model favoring a „6+6“ format. The „5+7“ format won unanimously with an 11-0 vote after the Pac-12 initially delayed the vote due to a separate proposal regarding revenue distribution for the remaining schools in the Pac-12: Washington State and Oregon State. While they will retain their Power Five conference status until 2025, there is no guarantee on the payment structure after that time.

Despite the unresolved matter, Schultz did not block the expansion proposal. He also stated in an interview with Yahoo Sports that the „5+7“ model would be better for the Pac-12 in the long run.

Additionally, the agreement on a playoff structure also includes a sole contract extension with ESPN for six years. The deal, valued at approximately $1.3 billion per year, was provisionally agreed upon the previous week with a notable clause that ESPN would withdraw from the deal if the College Football Playoffs failed to reach an agreement on the expansion terms.

The playoff expansion is set to begin in the 2024 season. The initial round will be held at the home venues of the higher-seeded team, with subsequent rounds taking place at neutral sites of existing bowl games such as the Rose Bowl, Peach Bowl, and Fiesta Bowl.

Related Posts

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.