Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
In conversation with Naturefriends: Leonardo Baroncelli | Vice President of Naturefriends Internatio
Image

Leonardo Baroncelli from Italy has been elected Vice President of NFI at the NFI Congress on October 21, 2017. He is an active member of Naturefriends Italy dealing with international and environmental topics. In our conversation, Leonardo talks about the reasons for his involvement with Naturefriends and his ideas for the future of the organisation.

 

What was your personal motivation for running for Vice President of the international Naturefriends movement?

During my youth I became an activist of the International Civil Service, A relief organization which sends volunteers worldwide. In this capacity I took part to relief operations during the Florence flooding of 1966 and the West Sicily earthquake of 1968, side by side with thousands of volunteers who came from many countries to help. This experience of great international solidarity has inspired my professional and personal life. After retirement from Italian diplomacy and forty years of service in four continents, I felt the need to devote myself again to non-profit activities, especially for the protection of nature and autochthonous cultures, which are presently exploited in a unsustainable and unfair manner.



Naturefriends Italy are very active on the international level, e.g. supporting the development of a Naturefriends group in Bosnia. How important is internationality for you - especially regarding the Naturefriends movement?

 

It is more than ever of fundamental importance as we face the rise of populism, the threat of terrorism and the crisis of multilateralism. Even the very foundations of the European integration have been called into question in recent years. In this uncertain contest efforts must not be spared to promote the values of the Naturefriends movement, particularly regarding internationalism, democracy, climate justice and the worldwide alliance in favour of the survival of our planet and of mankind.

 

In addition to holding the position of Vice-President, you are also a member of the Steering Group for the Naturefriends Climate Fund. The overall goal of the Climate Fund is to contribute to more climate justice by supporting concrete projects implemented by African Naturefriends. However, many people still perceive Naturefriends solely as a leisure-time and hiking organization. If they asked you why Naturefriends engage for Climate Justice, what would you answer?

 

Climate justice must be a priority in order to mitigate the consequences of climate change in the countries of the South which are not the main producers of CO2. Without climate justice the risks of social inequalities, armed conflicts and mass people displacements are very high. Therefore, it is better to implement the measures of climate justice and of social equalities which can prevent natural and man-made emergencies and make our world a better place to live.
Nevertheless, we also need to promote and support leisure-time and tourism made in a sustainable manner for the social and natural environment. Personally, I like hiking very much.
 


In your opinion, what are the major challenges for the Naturefriends movement for the next years, both in Italy and on the international level?

 

The major challenges for the Naturefriends movement is the aging of our members in Italy and on the international level. This is a challenge also for other non-profit organisations and new avenues should be explored to attract more young members.
First at all, there is a need to raise the political profile of the movement and to speak more loudly in favour of our values. There are time and money constraints but maybe more can be done with less. It is also important to promote a more active cooperation with like-minded associations in Central and Eastern Europe, Africa and Asia and to encourage them to make their voices heard. Finally, we can contribute more actively to the strengthening of civil society through dissemination of best practices, training in advocacy skills and promotion of environmental values in the European political world.

 

  

 
Share this:
Google + LinkedIn
 

Search

NFI Newsletter subscription

  unsubscribe from Newsletter

Dates

June 2018
M T W T F S S
282930311 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Naturfreunde im Gespräch: Leonardo Baroncelli | Vize-Präsident der Naturfreunde Internationale
Image

Der Italiener Leonardo Baroncelli wurde beim Kongress der NFI am 21. Oktober 2017 zum Vize-Präsidenten der NFI gewählt. Bei den Naturfreunden Italien beschäftigt er sich mit internationalen Themen sowie dem Umweltschutz. In unserem Gespräch spricht Leonardo über seine Beweggründe, sich für die Naturfreunde-Bewegung einzusetzen und über seine Ideen für die Zukunft der Organisation. 

 

Was war deine persönliche Motivation, dich als Vize-Präsident der internationalen Naturfreunde-Bewegung zu engagieren?

Schon in meiner Jugend war ich beim “International Civil Service”, einer UN-Hilfsorganisation, die Freiwillige weltweit entsendet. In dieser Eigenschaft nahm ich an Hilfsaktionen teil, wie etwa bei der Überschwemmung in Florenz 1966 und dem Erdbeben in Westsizilien 1966 – Seite an Seite mit Tausenden von Freiwilligen, die aus vielen Ländern kamen, um zu helfen. Hier habe ich große internationale Solidarität erfahren und das hat mein berufliches und privates Leben geprägt. Nach dem Rückzug aus der italienischen Diplomatie und 40 Jahren Dienst auf vier Kontinenten wollte ich mich wieder gemeinnützigen Tätigkeiten widmen, insbesondere dem Schutz der Natur und autochtoner Kulturen, die aktuell auf nicht nachhaltige und unfaire Weise ausgebeutet werden.



Die Naturfreunde Italien sind international sehr aktiv, z.B. unterstützen sie die Gründung einer Naturfreunde-Gruppe in Bosnien. Wie wichtig ist Internationalität für dich – insbesondere in Zusammenhang mit der Naturfreunde-Bewegung?

 

Heute ist sie wichtiger denn je, insbesondere weil wir konfrontiert sind mit dem Aufkeimen des Populismus, der Bedrohung durch den Terrorismus und der Krise des Multilateralismus. Selbst die Grundfesten der europäischen Integration wurden in den letzten Jahren infrage gestellt. In diesem unsicheren Umfeld müssen wir unsere Kräfte darauf konzentrieren, die Werte der Naturfreunde-Bewegung in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen - insbesondere die Internationalität, die Demokratie, die Klimagerechtigkeit und die weltweite Allianz für das Überlebens unseres Planeten und der Menschheit.

 

Neben dem Amt des Vize-Präsidenten bist du auch Mitglied der Steuerungsgruppe des Naturfreunde Klimafonds. Der Klimafonds will mehr Klimagerechtigkeit schaffen, indem konkrete Projekte der Naturfreunde Afrikas unterstützt werden. Dennoch sehen viele die Naturfreunde nur als Freizeit- und Wanderorganisation. Wenn dich jemand fragt, warum sich die Naturfreunde für Klimagerechtigkeit einsetzen, was würdest du antworten?

 

Klimagerechtigkeit muss Priorität haben, um die Folgen des Klimawandels in den Ländern des Südens, die ja nicht die Hauptproduzenten von CO2 sind, zu mindern. Ohne Klimagerechtigkeit sind die Risiken für soziale Ungleichheiten, bewaffnete Konflikte und Massenvertreibungen sehr hoch. Daher ist es besser, Maßnahmen zur Klimagerechtigkeit und zur sozialen Gerechtigkeit umzusetzen – so können Umweltkatastrophen und menschliche Katastrophen verhindert und unsere Welt zu einem besseren Ort zum Leben gemacht werden.
Dennoch müssen wir auch Freizeitaktivitäten und nachhaltigen Tourismus unterstützen, um ein soziales Umfeld und eine natürliche Umwelt zu fördern und zu unterstützen. Ich persönlich wandere viel und gern.
 


Was sind deiner Meinung nach die größten Herausforderungen für die Naturfreunde-Bewegung in den nächsten Jahren, sowohl in Italien als auch international?

 

Die größten Herausforderungen für die Naturfreunde-Bewegung ist die Überalterung unserer Mitglieder in Italien und auf internationaler Ebene. Dies ist eine Herausforderung auch für gemeinnützige Organisationen und wir müssen neue Wege beschreiten, um mehr junge Mitglieder zu gewinnen.
Zunächst einmal müssen wir das politische Profil der Bewegungen schärfen und stärker für unsere Werte eintreten. Es gibt natürlich Einschränkungen durch Zeit und Geld, aber möglicherweise kann mit weniger mehr erreicht werden. Es ist auch wichtig, aktiver mit gleichgesinnten Verbänden in Mittel- und Osteuropa, Afrika und Asien zusammenzuarbeiten und sie zu ermutigen, sich Gehör zu verschaffen. Schließlich müssen wir aktiver zur Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft beitragen, indem wir gute Beispiele vor den Vorhang holen, Fähigkeiten zur Förderung der Interessenvertretung vermitteln und unsere Werte auf politischer Ebene in Europa vertreten.
 
(März 2018)

 

  

 
Share this:

 

Suche

Newsletter abbonieren

von NFI Newsletter abmelden

Termine

August 2018
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
30311 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2