Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Landscape of the Year 2018-2019 Senegal/Gambia News (10)
Image

© Michael Leutgeb

Naturfriends go hiking in the Landscape of the Year
On the occasion of the "Tour d'Horizon", which was carried out very successfully in January 2018, opportunities were also explored to hike in the Landscape of the Year. Well suited for this is the Kunkilling Forest Park in The Gambia, located on the south bank of the Gambia River, about 5 km upstream from the district capital Janjanbureh.

„Forest Parks are managed forests, they are under state administration, and forestry is only possible with special permission and is regularly controlled.

In this protected area visitors can get acquainted with the rich fauna and flora of the region; the birdlife being especially interesting. The Park is accessible from four different villages, on so-called "eco-trails", permitting to explore part of the 200 hectares of protected area. The trails are each 0.5 or 1 km long, so the physical challenge is low. But in any way performance is not sought in the Park – the interest is focussed on the observation of nature. In cooperation with the Forestry Department of the region, the four villages ensure the management of the Park. During the Tour d'Horizon, only a short section of one of the trails was experienced – longer hikes are planned for further trips into the Landscape of the Year.

The Naturefriends of Koungheul (Senegal) also plan to create hiking trails in their part of the Landscape of the Year. This includes a so-called Natura Trail which starts at the village Maka Gouye. However, what is explored here is not a protected nature area, but nature in and around villages – fields, trees, orchards, plantations, etc. The path leads along a tributary of the Gambia River, so it also has special scenic attractions. And the many shrubs and trees along the way, which are important for natural medicine, are also of great interest.

This route has already been tested by the participants of the Tour d'Horizon. Ingrid Leutgeb-Born and Michael Leutgeb share their experiences from the tour on our tourism_LOG.



 
 
Share this:
Google + LinkedIn
 

Search

NFI Newsletter subscription

  unsubscribe from Newsletter

Dates

July 2018
M T W T F S S
2526272829301
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Infos aus der Landschaft des Jahres 2018/2019 – Senegal/Gambia (10)
Image

© Michael Leutgeb

Naturfreunde wandern in der Landschaft des Jahres
Anlässlich der Pilotreise „Tour d’Horizon“, die im Januar 2018 äußerst erfolgreich durchgeführt wurde, wurden auch Möglichkeiten erkundet, Wanderungen in der Landschaft des Jahres zu unternehmen. Gut geeignet dafür ist der Kunkilling Forest Park in Gambia, am Südufer des Gambiaflusses gelegen, ca. 5 Kilometer stromaufwärts von der Distrikthauptstadt Janjanbureh.

„Forest Parks“ sind am ehesten mit dem deutschen Staatsforst zu vergleichen. Sie stehen unter staatlicher Verwaltung, und Forstwirtschaft darf nur kontrolliert mit Genehmigung betrieben werden.

In diesem Schutzgebiet können BesucherInnen die reichhaltige Fauna und Flora der Region kennen lernen. Besonders interessant ist die Vogelwelt. Der Park wird durch so genannte „eco-trails“ erschlossen, die von vier verschiedenen Dörfern aus die Begehung eines Teiles des 200 Hektar großen Schutzgebiets ermöglichen. Die Trails sind jeweils 0,5 oder 1 km lang, die sportliche Herausforderung ist also gering. Aber die wird in dem Park nicht gesucht – das Interesse gilt der Naturbeobachtung. Die vier Dörfer gewährleisten gemeinsam mit der Forstbehörde das Management. Bei der Tour d’Horizon wurde nur ein kurzer Abschnitt eines der Wege begangen – für weitere Reisen in die Landschaft des Jahres sind längere Wanderungen geplant.

Die Naturfreunde Koungheul (Senegal) planen ebenfalls, in ihrem Teil der Landschaft des Jahres Wandermöglichkeiten zu schaffen. Dazu gehört ein Naturweg („Natura Trail“), der von dem Dorf Maka Gouye ausgeht. Hier gibt es kein ausgewiesenes Naturschutzgebiet, sondern man wandert durch die Natur in und in der Nähe von Dörfern – man kommt vorbei an Feldern, Bäumen, Plantagen, Obstgärten etc. und teilweise geht es auch an einem Nebenarm des Gambiaflusses entlang, der durchaus über landschaftliche Reize verfügt. Interessant sind auch die vielen Sträucher und Bäume am Wegesrand, die in der Naturmedizin Bedeutung haben.

Dieser Weg wurde von den TeilnehmerInnen der Tour d’Horizon bereits getestet. Ingrid Leutgeb-Born und Michael Leutgeb erzählen auf dem tourism_LOG, wie sie die Tour erlebt haben: zum Bericht auf tourism_LOG



 
 
Share this:

 

Suche

Newsletter abbonieren

von NFI Newsletter abmelden

Termine

September 2018
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
27282930311 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30