Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Landscape of the Year 2018-2019 Senegal/The Gambia News (5)
Image

© Eve Andersson/Gambia Tourist Board

Nature and biodiversity conservation in the "Landscape of the Year"  

The region chosen as "Landscape of the Year 2018/2019 – Senegal-The Gambia" is located in the vicinity of Koungheul (Senegal) and Janjanbureh (The Gambia) – two cities on the border of the Sahel zone – and is marked by the impact of climate change. On the Senegalese side, the effects on vegetation and biodiversity are particularly evident. The Gambian side benefits from the Gambia River, which plays an important role in maintaining biodiversity. 

This is where the River Gambia National Park is situated, approximately 40 km southwest of Janjanbureh. It covers an area of 580 km2 and is an important biodiversity reserve. It is also known as the Baboon Islands, named after the endemic Guinea baboon (Papio papio). The predominant type of vegetation is the tropical gallery forest with an impressive variety of bird species. Access to the National Park is strictly regulated. The Chimpanzee Rehabilitation Project (CRP) is a remarkable private project which is located there. Since the early 20th century there used to be hardly any chimpanzees living in the wild in The Gambia. Within the scope of CRP, this is where animals confiscated from illegal trade have been cared for since 1979, reaccustomed to a life in the wild and prepared for later release to the islands. The River Gambia National Park is characterized by an abundant avifauna and also other monkey species, hippos, warthogs and antelopes live there.


The Kunikilling Forest Park, too, is of major importance from the point of view of biodiversity conservation. It is located about 5 km from Janjanbureh in an easterly direction; it is managed under State control and is open to the public. The Park is managed by the Forestry Department in partnership with the adjacent villages. The partnership aims at promoting sustainable forest resource management. Gentle tourism programs have also been initiated, which are designed to raise awareness among visitors of the need for protection and conservation of the forest area. Visitors can watch the rich avifauna on several hiking trails and from an observation platform.


In the Senegalese part of the Landscape of the Year, the consequences of climate change, as well as of deforestation and bush fires have caused a dramatic decline of the typical forest-savannah. However, around Koungheul there are 131 hectares with four "Forêts classées". These are forests whose exploitation is regulated by the State. There is also the "Massif Communautaire de Mousdalifa", close to the border with the Gambia. Joint sensitization activities could be carried out there in the context of the Landscape of the Year, with a view to preventing bush fires and to avoid abusive deforestation. Naturefriends of Koungheul are also involved in the development of hiking trails to promote soft tourism.  



 
 
Share this:
Google + LinkedIn
 

Search

Newsletter





Dates

November 2017
M T W T F S S
30311 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3

Shop


List All Products
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Infos aus der Landschaft des Jahres 2018/2019 – Senegal/Gambia (5)
Image

© Eve Andersson/Gambia Tourist Board

Naturschutz und Biodiversitätserhalt in der "Landschaft des Jahres" 

Das als „Landschaft des Jahres 2018/2019 – Senegal-Gambia“ ausgewählte Gebiet im Bereich der Städte Koungheul (Senegal) und Janjanbureh (Gambia) liegt am Rande der Sahelzone und ist durch die Folgen des Klimawandels gezeichnet. Auf der senegalesischen Seite sind die Auswirkungen auf Vegetation und Artenvielfalt besonders deutlich. Die gambische Seite profitiert vom Vorhandensein des Gambia-River, der eine wichtige Rolle für den Erhalt der Biodiversität spielt.

Hier liegt der River Gambia National Park, 40 Kilometer von Janjanbureh in südwestlicher Richtung entfernt. Er umfasst eine Fläche von 580 km2 und stellt ein wichtiges Biodiversitätsreservoir dar. Er ist auch unter dem Namen Baboon-Islands (Pavian-Inseln) bekannt, nach dem dort endemisch vorkommenden Guineapavian (Papio papio). Der vorherrschende Vegetationstypus ist tropischer Galeriewald mit einer beeindruckenden Vielfalt an Vogelarten. Der Zugang zum Nationalpark ist streng reguliert. Auf den Baboon-Islands ist das private Chimpanzee Rehabilitation Project (CRP) angesiedelt. Seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts gab es in Gambia kaum mehr wild lebende Schimpansen. Im Rahmen des privaten Projektes werden seit 1979 aus illegalem Handel konfiszierte Tiere betreut, wieder an ein Leben in Freiheit gewöhnt und auf eine spätere Auswilderung auf den Inseln vorbereitet. Der River Gambia National Park zeichnet sich durch eine reichhaltige Vogelfauna aus, auch weitere Affenarten, Flusspferde, Warzenschweine und Antilopen leben dort.


Etwa 5 km von Janjanbureh in östlicher Richtung befindet sich der Kunkilling Forest Park, dessen Nutzung unter staatlicher Kontrolle steht. Er ist öffentlich zugänglich und ebenfalls unter dem Gesichtspunkt des Biodiversitätserhalts von großer Bedeutung. Ziel der für den Park verantwortlichen Behörden ist nachhaltiges Forstmanagement, wobei die BewohnerInnen der umliegenden Dörfer eingebunden sind. Es wurden auch sanft-touristische Angebote initiiert, die die BesucherInnen für den Schutz und die Erhaltung des Waldgebietes als Biodiversitätsreservoir sensibilisieren sollen. Auf mehreren Wanderwegen und von einer Beobachtungsplattform aus können die BesucherInnen die reichhaltige Vogelwelt beobachten. 


Im senegalesischen Teil der Landschaft des Jahres haben die Folgen des Klimawandels, Abholzung und Buschbrände zu einem dramatischen Rückgang der typischen Waldsavannen geführt. Dennoch sind im Gebiet von Koungheul 131 ha Fläche mit vier „Forêts classées“ bestanden. Dabei handelt es sich um staatlich ausgewiesene Waldgebiete, deren Bewirtschaftung reglementiert ist, darunter ein grenzüberschreitender Wald – das „Massif Communautaire de Mousdalifa“. Hier ist angedacht, im Rahmen der Landschaft des Jahres gemeinsame Sensibilisierungsaktivitäten zur Vorbeugung von Buschbränden und zur Vermeidung extensiver Abholzung durchzuführen. Die Naturfreunde von Koungheul sind auch dabei, zur Förderung von sanftem Tourismus in ihrem Gebiet Wanderwege anzulegen. 



 
 
Share this:

 

Suche

Newsletter





Termine

November 2017
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
30311 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3

Shop


Zeige alle Produkte
Warenkorb zeigen
Ihr Warenkorb ist derzeit leer.