Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Landscape of the Year 2018-2019 Senegal/Gambia News (3)
Image
© Jane Smith

Sustainable tourism in the Landscape of the Year

The area selected as Landscape of the Year is only marginally developed for tourism. The idea behind this project – jointly organised by Naturefriends International and Senegalese Naturefriends with their partners – is to launch (Senegal) or to restore (Gambia) responsible tourism in the region, with a view to providing new or additional sources of income for the population. This is also in line with the ideas and plans of the local authorities.

Links

Landscape of the Year Senegal/Gambia

Tour d`Horizon Senegal/Gambia
Tour d`Horizon Senegal/Gambia T

Tour d`Horizon - A journey to Senegal/Gambia

Naturefriends ClimateFund

There is a lot of potential for this type of tourism: Despite its barenness, the region is known for its scenic beauty with green hills, Baobab groves and the diverse fauna of the Gambia River, as for instance the Kunkilling Forest Park. Prehistoric stone circles and many traditional festivities of different ethnic groups count among the cultural highlights. Among those is the ceremony related to the Kankurang, the main character of a Mandinka initiation rite, inscribed since 2005 on UNESCO’s List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

The Kankurang on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gNtkPUuxl0 , english
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ly-uMMYMCY , french

The section “Information from the Landscape of the Year“ of NFI Newsletter is designed to present various aspects of the region on a regular basis. You find here information on Janjanbureh as potential destination for sustainable tourism:

Janjanbureh: Sustainable Tourism Development for the Destination
Janjanbureh, formerly known as Georgetown and at present capital of the Gambian Central River Region, was founded in 1832 on McCarthy Island in the Gambia River. In 1995, both the city of Georgetown and McCarthy Island were renamed Janjanbureh respectively. The island is accessed by a bridge from the south bank, and small boat ferries or a government ferry on the north bank.
Though rich with tourist visiting sites, Janjanbureh is today hardly visited by tour operators.
The island has many historic sites relating to the settlement of freed slaves and early Christian settlers who were from the Wesleyan Mission (1823) and introduced the peanut (groundnut); a crop still exported downstream on the Gambia River. The Wassu stone circles lie 22 km northwest of Lamin Koto, on the north bank across from Janjanbureh. They are inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List. Janjanbureh is also noted for being the site of the first church in Gambia and the first high school.
The dominant vegetation type is tropical rain forest in the form of a gallery forest, which is particularly rich in bird species. Kunkilling Forest Park is of specific interest in this context and can be explored on eco-trails. The west of the island has abundant, secluded woodland, as well as the West Rice Paddies. The island used to be a bustling town visited by tourists mainly by river transport. Currently, there is a river pirogue that takes tourists to Janjanbureh. These tourists travel through the island leaving only minimal benefits behind. Small locally owned businesses and guiding services hardly make any income from tourism.
The Landscapte of the Year initiative will help to promote Janjanbureh and its surrounding attractions as a Sustainable Tourism Destination where the numerous Naturefriends and tourists could visit to get a deeper insight and understanding of the Gambia and the realities of the people.



 
 
Share this:
Google + LinkedIn
 

Search

Newsletter





Dates

September 2017
M T W T F S S
282930311 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Shop


List All Products
Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.

Menu Content/Inhalt
Home
Infos aus der Landschaft des Jahres 2018/2019 – Senegal/Gambia (3)
Image

© Jane Smith

Nachhaltiger Tourismus in der „Landschaft des Jahres“

Das Gebiet der „Landschaft des Jahres“ ist touristisch wenig erschlossen. Mit dem Projekt will die Naturfreunde Internationale gemeinsam mit den senegalesischen Naturfreunden und deren Partnern in Senegal und Gambia verantwortungsvollen Tourismus in der Region anstoßen (Senegal) oder wieder aufbauen (Gambia), um für die Bevölkerung neue oder zusätzliche Einkommensmöglichkeiten zu schaffen. Dies entspricht auch den Vorstellungen und Plänen der lokalen Behörden.

Links

Landschaft des Jahres Senegal/Gambia

Tour d`Horizon Senegal/Gambia
Tour d`Horizon Senegal/Gambia

 Tour d`Horizon - Reise nach Senegal/Gambia

Naturfreunde Klimafonds

Potenzial dafür ist vorhanden. Die Region bietet bei aller Kargheit viele landschaftliche Reize wie grüne Hügelketten, Baobab-Haine und den Gambia River mit seiner vielfältigen Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Kulturelle Highlights sind die prähistorischen Steinkreise und die vielen traditionellen Feste verschiedener Ethnien. Dazu zählt der Initiationsritus der Mandinka mit der Figur des „Kankurang“, der seit 2005 auf der Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes der Unesco steht.

Der Kankurang auf youtube (Unesco-Film):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gNtkPUuxl0 , englisch
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ly-uMMYMCY , französisch

Die Rubrik „Infos aus der Landschaft des Jahres“ hat zum Ziel, den Leserinnen und Lesern des NFI-Newsletter nach und nach die Region vorzustellen. Nachstehend ein kurzer Beitrag, der Janjanbureh als potenzielle Destination für nachhaltigen Tourismus darstellt.

Janjanbureh – eine Destination für nachhaltigen Tourismus
Die Stadt Janjanbureh (Hauptstadt von Gambias Central River Region) wurde 1832 gegründet, sie liegt auf der McCarthy-Insel im Gambia River und war ursprünglich unter dem Namen Georgetown bekannt. Seit 1995 tragen sowohl die Stadt als auch die Insel den Namen Janjanbureh. Vom Süden kommend gelangt man über eine Brücke auf die Insel, zum Nordufer wird der Fluss mit Fähren überquert.
Obwohl Janjanbureh über eine Reihe touristisch interessanter Stätten verfügt, wird die Stadt derzeit von TouristikerInnen kaum wahrgenommen.
Historische Zeugnisse weisen auf die Besiedlung durch freigelassene Sklaven und frühe christliche Siedler der Wesleyanischen Mission (1823) hin, die den Erdnussabau einführten, der nach wie vor in der Region betrieben wird. Am Nordufer des Flusses liegen die Steinkreise von Wassu, 22 Kilometer nordwestlich des Ortes Lamin Koto. Sie stehen auf der Welterbe-Liste der Unesco. Die Stadt ist auch für die erste Kirche Gambias und die erste Sekundarschule bekannt.

Der vorherrschende Vegetationstypus ist tropischer Galeriewald mit einer beeindruckenden Vielfalt an Vogelarten. Von besonderem Interesse ist in diesem Zusammenhang der Kunkilling Forest Park, der durch Öko-Trails erschlossen ist. Im Westen der Insel befinden sich üppige einsame Wälder sowie die „West Rice Paddies“ genannten Reisfelder. Janjanbureh/Georgetown war in der Vergangenheit eine lebendige Stadt und wurde in erster Linie von TouristInnen besucht, die auf dem Fluss in die Region kamen. Gegenwärtig wird die Insel nur von kleineren Booten angefahren, deren Passagiere für einen kurzen Rundgang aussteigen und der örtlichen Bevölkerung (Kleinhändler, Guides) kaum Einkommen verschaffen.

Das Projekt Landschaft des Jahres kann dazu beitragen, dass Janjanbureh mit seinen kulturhistorisch interessanten Stätten und umliegenden Naturgebieten als Destination für nachhaltigen Tourismus wiederbelebt wird. NaturfreundInnen und anderen BesucherInnen können so authentische Einblicke und Einsichten in das Land und Verständnis für die Lebensrealitäten der Bevölkerung vermittelt werden.



 
 
Share this:

 

Suche

Newsletter





Termine

November 2017
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
30311 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3

Shop


Zeige alle Produkte
Warenkorb zeigen
Ihr Warenkorb ist derzeit leer.